Procrastination

Twice a week, I join in-sessional English class in my campus. International student could choose and register to two courses so I took Postgraduate writing and Spoken Fluency and Discussion classes. Each course is held for 5 weeks. After 5 weeks, a new session will start and you could register (again) for other courses if you wish. And let me tell you the best part of these all, since I am an international student, I don’t have to pay anything or FREE. Yayyy, I love everything’s FREE 😀 😀

I’m in UK right now, but do you know that I’m still struggling to improve my poor English. Writing is my weakness, speaking as well. Little little I can lah, but when the things turn out to be serious, whoaaaa I definitely will lost in the jungle I mean, I understand the general topic but I don’t know how to express my feeling or to argue someone, or to answer the question briefly. So I really hope these courses will help me much to overcome my problems hihihi.

So, last Wednesday in Postgraduate Writing course, we discussed about procrastination. Procrastination is the art of delaying something you should do simply because you don’t want to do it. Gemma, my lecturer gave an example “when faced with a deadline, suddenly cleaning out the fridge, and rearranging your furniture seems like a more essential task.” Magic, that’s so me! Hands up who are with me? Hahahaha.

As for me, I have an assignment due date Friday 30th october 2015, I already wrote two-thirds way, I just need to write the last paragraph. Today, after class I went to library aiming to write the last paragraph until the finish line. I opened the file, tried so hard to type a proper word as a starter. Then suddenly I remembered I had to print some class materials, checked my email, top up my print card, and after that I felt like I wanted a cuppa hot chocolate (weird, because usually I’m not a fan of chocolate) so there I went to Starbucks on level 2 😀 :D. I ended up writing one sentence only.

I got some useful tips to stop procrastinating and start writing from Wednesday class.

What’s on the top of the list is to find a quiet  place with no distraction, you have to disable internet network or Wifi so you can focus on your writing. Easy to say, hard to do? Then leave your mobile phone at home 😀

You don’t have to start writing with introduction, just start with the section you like the most, hopefully this will give you a good idea to other parts of your writing.

Stop worrying over whether or not what you write is perfect, just write. We can revise the draft several times, so don’t attempt to revise every line as you write it.

Do you find those tips are useful? Well, I do.

Now I want to apply the tips, no more procrastionation, hohoho, wish me luck on my essay. Until then, have good day everyone…

Shinta

Leave a Reply

